The Romans came to Lamego in the 3rd century and replaced the indigenous settlement which once stood here. Lamaecus continued to grow in importance as a major trading post right through the Visigoth and Moorish eras to medieval times and beyond. The region was fought over furiously during the reconquest. Lamego changed hands between the Arabs and Christians multiple times, until 1057 when Ferdinand I of León & Castile took the town in a decisive battle. Later in 1139, Alfonso Henriques was declared the first King of Portugal in Lamego.
The town's rich history fills the Lamego's museum, one of the best regional museums in the country. It is ideally located opposite the Cathedral in a former 18th-century palace where the Bishops once resided. Inside the museum, 16th-century Flemish tapestries hang that once furnished the Palace.
Amongst the collection of paintings dating from the 16th to the 18th century, one can find works from the famous Portuguese Renaissance painter Vasco Fernandes (c.1475-c.1542), better known as Grão Vasco. Other collections in the museum include 12th-century sculptures and pieces of religious and folk art.
Tuesday - Sunday: 10h00 - 12h30/14h00 - 17h00, Mondays: CLOSED
Largo de Camões, Lamego, 5100, Portugal.
41° 05' 50.2" N | 07° 48' 22.4" W | +351 254 600 230 | firstname.lastname@example.org | Website
Perched on its strategic vantage point on a hill overlooking the town are the remains of Lamego's castle. The site was first fortified by the moors in the 11th century and whose walls still stand. Also from this period is an unusual underground cistern which has monograms of master masons carved within its walls.
The keep however dates back to the reconquest period in the 12th century. Although the structure was important in cementing a fledgeling Portugal's grip on the area, precedence shifted to defending Portugal's expanded borders and Lamego's castle fell into decline. Its function has changed over time, it's was a prison in the 16th century and later the county jail. In 1920 a clock was installed in the tower. Inside the keep, there's an information centre and from the top, there are excellent views overlooking the town. The area immediately surrounding the castle, the Bairro do Castelo, is the oldest in Lamego and retains a medieval ruggedness and oozes old-timey charm. Bordered by original defensive walls entrance to this district is through a north gate (Porta do Sol) and a south gate (Porta da Vila).
Tuesday – Sundsay: 10:00 – 12:00/15:00 – 18:00, Monday: CLOSED | FREE
Rua do Castelo, Lamego 5100-128 Portugal
41º 05' 56.9" N | 07º 48' 32.8" W | +351 254 609 600 | email@example.com | Website
More Lamego connections to Grão Vasco can be found in the cathedral where he painted the main altarpiece between 1506 and 1511. The original cathedral dates back to 1129 and was first commissioned by Afonso Henriques. It has been altered many times since, leaving us with an interesting hodgepodge of various styles. The tower and its windows are the oldest surviving feature, with their delicately carved capitals providing one of the finest examples of 12th-century Romanesque. The bishop Dom Manoel de Noronha in the 16th century requisitioned alterations to the cathedral, including the additions of the upper section of the tower, which emblazons his coat of arms.
Also from the 16th century is the impressively carved triple portal with a mix of Renaissance and Flamboyant Gothic features. This transitional style is repeated in the cloisters, as evident in its small arches. It is also found branching off this tranquil space are the chapels of St John, St Anthony and St Nicholas.
Inside, the style is predominantly 18th century baroque. The vaulted ceilings were painted in 1738 as commissioned by Nicolau Nasoni. Frescoes depicting stories from the old testament are well preserved and found within the chancel can be found in 18th-century marble, a gilded altarpiece and two beautiful organs dating from 1753.
Daily: 08h00 – 13h00/15h00 – 20h00
2 Rua Cortes, Lamego 5100-132 Portugal | 41º 05' 47.6" N | 07º 48' 23.4" W
+351 254 612 147 | firstname.lastname@example.org
An unmissable sight from the town is the church Nossa Senhora dos Remédios. Its impressive Baroque staircase boasts fourteen Stations of the Cross that lead your aching knees up through the forested park, Monte de Santo Estevão, onto the terrace that is home to statues of kings and queens. At the top, the magnificent 18th-century church is crowned by a pair of bell towers, built in the Rococo style. Each September, during the feast day, pilgrims climb the 686 steps seeking healing and absolution. If not found, one can be compensated by the impressive views overlooking Lamego and the Douro countryside.
Devotion at the site dates back to 1361, with the construction of the original chapel dedicated to St. Steven. It was demolished in 1568 over fears of it collapsing and being a hazard to the mass of pilgrims who flock here every year. A replacement was built in the 16th century, in the guise of a small octagonal chapel in honour of the Virgin Mary.
The first stone of the Santuário de Nossa Senhora dos Remédios was laid in 1750 and took over 150 years to complete. At the entrance to the nave, a tomb of the founder José Teixeira Pinto, who died in 1784, can be found. Inside, the visitor's eyes are treated to an impressive gold gilded altar depicting its patron saint flanked on either side by St. Joseph and St. Jerome. Also found inside are beautiful tile panels depicting scenes from the life of the Virgin. There are also stained glass windows that enrich the walls of the main body and the chancel, with images of Our Lady of Conception, the Sacred Heart of Jesus and the Annunciation. There is also an impressive pipe organ and a magnificent silver tabernacle. The sanctuary is open all year round and has free admission.
Low season: 08h30 - 18h00, High season: 08h30 - 19h00
Monte de Santo Estevão, 5100-025 Lamego, Portugal
41º 05' 29.7" N | 07º 48' 59.7" W | +351 254 614 392 | email@example.com
Access: Dedicated Parking, Entrance Ramps, Partial Circulation, Adapted Toilets.
Dating back to the second half of the Romanesque 12th century, the Igreja de Almacave is situated below the castle with finely carved capitals and a 16th Renaissance pulpit. Its façade is famed for being the rallying point for the knights of Alfonso. This little church is entwined with the history of both Lamego and Portugal itself. During the 18th century, the church was radically renovated and was adorned with azulejos tiles. Later the carved gilded altars were added. The three archivolt Romanesque portals, side doors and lintels are remnants of the original construction. Rua das Cortes, Lamego 5100-132, Portugal | 41° 05' 57.7" N | 07° 48' 37.4" W
Located less than a mile from the centre of Lamego, The Lamego Hotel & Life offers four-star luxury and comfort. With health facilities such as a gym, sauna, Turkish bath, tennis courts, and squash courts. Both indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The hotel also has its own orchard and vineyard.
Quinta da Vista Alegre, 5100-183 Lamego, Portugal.
41° 02' 51.9" N | 07° 45' 28.7" W | +351 254 656 171
Book Online ►
The luxurious Wine House Hotel in Lamego, in the heart of the Douro region, is surrounded by extensive private grounds with vineyards. This typical 18th-century house was restored, respecting its traditional architecture and original features. It blends modern design with a historical ambience. There are also quaint wine barrel-shaped bungalows for a unique experience. Can you imagine yourself waking up in the middle of a vineyard and experience the rurality of one of the most famous wine regions in the world?
The air-conditioned rooms at the charming The Wine House Hotel - Quinta da Pacheca are individually decorated. All rooms have an en suite bathroom, while some also have a private balcony. Free WiFi is available. A daily breakfast buffet is served at the property. Guests can enjoy gourmet cuisine made with local produce at the restaurant, which offers panoramic views of the surrounding landscape. It is also possible to taste and buy the wine produced at Quinta da Pacheca.
Quinta Da Pacheca, Cambres, 5100-424 Lamego, Portugal.
41º 09' 20.3" N | 07º 47' 52.6" W | +351 254 331 229
Book Online ►
Viscondes da Varzea is a charming hotel set in an aristocratic country manor dating back to the 17th century. It is surrounded by vineyards, fruit orchards and olive groves at the heart of the Douro Region. Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea is an example of Portugal's Gothic-Manueline architecture. On-site wonders include a chapel with a baroque altar, centuries' old wine cellars and the oil press, still in use.
The atmospheric rooms of the hotel include antique furnishings and a deluxe bathroom with a spa bath and courtesy bathrobe and slippers. Decorative elements include stone bannisters and baroque goblets. There are also an elevated salt-water swimming pool and a tennis court. During the wine harvesting months, guests can participate in the wine pressing and join in folklore dinners, accompanied by concertina music. Hotel Rural Casa is located in Lamego and is close to the Murganheira Cellars, where sparkling wine tastings are regularly held.
Quinta da Varzea, 5100-878 Lamego, Portugal.
N 41º 06' 30.6" | W 07º 48' 16.1" | +351 967 606 385
Book Online ►
Serving the best in local produce and cuisine, combined with good old fashioned courtesy - all dished up in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
Tuesday – Sunday: 12h00 - 15h00/19h30 - 22h00, Monday: CLOSED
79 Avenida 5 de Outubro, 5100-065 Lamego, Portugal.
41º 05' 47.0" N | 07º 48' 33.3" W
+351 254 613 145
Seeing as this restaurant is located in the heart of Lamego, near the cathedral and museum, the modern yet beautiful interior is somewhat a surprise. The cuisine is contemporary yet takes influence from gastronomy from the Douro region. The wine list comes with friendly and knowledgeable suggestions. Some nice touches are the large fireplace and piano.
Weekdays: 12h00 - 14h30/19h30 - 22h00, Weekends: 12h00 - 15h00/19h30 - 22h30
Rua Macario de Castro, Lamego 5100-179 Lamego, Portugal.
41° 05' 47.2'' N | 07° 48' 19.4'' W
+351 254 401 698
Great food served in a jovial atmosphere, A great choice of tapas and wines provide the ingredients of a wonderful night out or to spend a long time over lunch.
Daily: 12h00 - 16h00/19h00 - 23h00, Tuesdays in low season: CLOSED
Rua Macario de Castro Largo da Vitoria, Lamego 5100-149 Portugal.
41º 05' 47.4" N | 07º 48' 20.0" W
+351 969 686 787
Francisco de Sá Carneiro Airport Porto is 112km (70 miles) West of Lamego.
GET A GREAT DEAL ON YOUR FLIGHT HERE:
From Porto take the A4 east
GET A GREAT DEAL ON YOUR CAR HIRE HERE:
There are no trains to Lamego. The nearest train station is 13.km (8.5 miles) away in Régua. Use the Regional (Comboios Regionais) Linha do Douro service: Train Timetable | Comboios de Portugal Website
Rede Expressos run services to Viana do Castelo from various locations within Portugal. Website